Visvesvaraya Technological University (VTU)

One of the largest technological universities of India, Visvesvaraya Technological University (VTU) came into existence in the year 1998 to cater to the needs of Indian industries for trained technical manpower with practical experience and sound theoretical knowledge. The University is named after notable Indian engineer, scholar, statesman and the recipient of highest honour ‘Bharata Ratna’ Sir. M. Visvesvaraya.

Currently, the University has 218 affiliated colleges, 1 constituent college and 17 autonomous colleges with undergraduate courses in 35 disciplines, PG program in 94 disciplines and Ph.D& with research programs in 592 departments.

The University has 13 Quality Improvement Programme (QIP) centers in various affiliated colleges and 16 extension centers for offering PG programs.The University has four regional centers across the State of Karnataka in Belagavi, Bengaluru, Kalaburagi and Mysuru respectively.

VTU has established Centre of Excellence at various places in Karnataka in different scopes to bring a change in the technology and society.
  • VTU Bio-Fuel Information and Demonstration center at Belagavi.
  • VTU center for Nanotechnology at Bengaluru
  • VTU National Academy for Skill Development at Dandeli in Uttar Kannada District
  • Parisar Chair at Belagavi
  • VTU Innovation Clubs at VTU and in Affiliated Engineering Colleges.
  • VTU Institute of Advanced Technologies at Muddenahalli
  • E-Learning Center at Mysuru
  • VTU Bosch Center of Competence at Mysuru
“To become an outstanding Technological University at the cutting edge of Science and Technology that produces world class Knowledge-delivery, Research, Extension and Leadership in Technology innovation for Industry and Society”.

“To plan the development of technical education, to establish value-based and need-based education and training in engineering and technology, with a view to generate qualified and competent manpower, responsive to technological and societal needs”.

Undergraduate Programs VTU

B.Tech or BE is offered in the following areas in VTU
  • Ceramics & Cement Technology
  • Civil Engineering
  • Environmental Engineering
  • Aeronautical Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Mining Engineering
  • Electronics & Comm Engineering
  • Telecommunication Engineering
  • Electrical & Electronics Engineering
  • Computer Science & Engineering
  • Information Science & Engineering
  • Industrial & Production Engineering
  • Industrial Engineering & Management
  • Manufacturing Science & Engineering
  • Biomedical Engineering
  • Instrumentation Technology
  • Medical Electronics
  • Bio-technology
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Polymer Science & Technology
  • Silk Technology
  • Textile Technology
  • Automobile Engineering

Postgraduate Programs in VTU

M.Tech is offered in the following areas in VTU
  • Computer Aided Design of Structures
  • Highway Technology
  • Hydraulics
  • Structural Engineering
  • Transportation Engineering
  • Environmental Engineering
  • Geo informatics
  • Aeronautical Engineering
  • Computer Integrated Manufacturing
  • Design Engineering
  • Machine Design
  • Thermal Power Engineering
  • Tool Engineering
  • Engineering Analysis & Design
  • Industrial Automation and Robotics
  • Automotive Engineering
  • Computer Applications in Industrial Drives
  • Electrical Energy Systems
  • Energy Systems & Management
  • Micro Electronics & Control Systems
  • Power System Engineering
  • Power Electronics
  • Renewable Energy
  • Communication Systems
  • Digital Communication Engineering
  • Digital Communication & Networking
  • Digital Electronics
  • Digital Electronics & Communication
  • Digital Electronics & Communication Systems
  • Electronics
  • Industrial Electronics
  • Information & Communication System
  • Network & Internet Engineering
  • VLSI Design & Embedded Systems
  • Signal Processing
  • Biotechnology
  • Biotechnology & Biochemical Engineering
  • Bioinformatics
  • Industrial Biotechnology
  • Computer Engineering
  • Computer Networking
  • Computer Science & Engineering
  • Information Technology
  • Software Engineering
  • Master of Computer Application
  • Manufacturing Science & Engineering
  • Master of Engineering Management
  • Product Design & Manufacturing
  • Production Engineering & System Technology
  • Production Engineering
  • Production Management
  • Production Technology
  • Bio-Medical Signal Processing & Instrumentation
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Polymer Science
  • Textile Technology
  • Master of Business Administration
  • M.Tech in Nano Technology
  • Industrial Safety Management

Admission in Visvesvaraya Technological University

Admission at the undergraduate level is done through Karnataka CET (KCET), which is conducted by Karnataka Examination Authority (KEA). 

Admission is also done through JEE Mains which is an all India common engineering entrance examination conducted for admission to various engineering colleges and courses all over the country. 

The candidates seeking admission in B.arch programme have to attend National Aptitude Test in Architecture (NATA). 

Contact Details

Visvesvaraya Technological University
“Jnana Sangama”
Belagavi : 590018
Karnataka, India

Connect me with the Top Colleges