Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore

The Indian Institute of Science (IISc) was conceived in the late 1800s, The brain child of Jamsetji Nusserwanji Tata. Unfortunately, Tata died in 1904 and was unable to witness the inauguration of this elite institute  on 27 May 1909 by the Indian Government.

The Institute which initially started with just two departments – General and Applied Chemistry and Electrical Technology – today has over 40 departments spread across six divisions: Biological Sciences, Chemical Sciences, Electrical Sciences, Interdisciplinary Research, Mechanical Sciences, and Physical and Mathematical Sciences. It also has a new campus at Challekere in Chitradurga district in Karnataka.


IISc aims to be among the world’s foremost academic institutions through the pursuit of excellence in research and promotion of innovation by offering world-class education to train future leaders in science and technology and by applying science and technology breakthroughs for India’s wealth creation and social welfare.

  • Imparting world-class higher education in an environment of fundamental and applied research in science and engineering
  • Conducting high-impact research, generating new knowledge, and disseminating this knowledge through publications in top journals and conferences
  • Applying faculty expertise towards the success of national science and technology initiatives
  • Applying deep knowledge in various areas to create knowhow and developing such knowhow for utilization by industry and society.

Divisions and Departments of Indian Institute of Science Bangalore 

Division of Biological Sciences
  • Biochemistry (BC)
  • Central Animal Facility (CAF)
  • Centre for Ecological Sciences (CES)
  • Centre for Infectious Disease Research (CIDR)
  • Centre for Neuroscience (CNS)
  • Microbiology and Cell Biology (MCB)
  • Molecular Biophysics Unit (MBU)
  • Molecular Reproduction, Development and Genetics (MRDG)
Division of Chemical Sciences
  • Inorganic and Physical Chemistry (IPC)
  • Materials Research Centre (MRC)
  • Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) Research Centre (NRC)
  • Organic Chemistry (OC)
  • Solid State and Structural Chemistry Unit (SSCU)
Division of Electrical, Electronics, and Computer Science (EECS)
  • Computer Science and Automation (CSA)
  • Electrical Communication Engineering (ECE)
  • Electrical Engineering (EE)
  • Electronic Systems Engineering (ESE)
Division of Interdisciplinary Research
  • Centre for Infrastructure, Sustainable Transportation and Urban Planning (CiSTUP)
  • Centre for Biosystems Science and Engineering (BSSE)
  • Centre for Society and Policy (CSP)
  • Centre for Nano Science and Engineering (CeNSE)
  • Department of Computational and Data Sciences (CDS)
  • Department of Management Studies (MS)
  • Interdisciplinary Centre for Energy Research (ICER)
  • Interdisciplinary mathematical sciences
  • Interdisciplinary Centre for Water Research (ICWaR)
  • Robert Bosch Centre for Cyber Physical Systems (RBCCPS)
  • Supercomputer Education and Research Centre (SERC)
Division of Mechanical Sciences
  • Aerospace Engineering (AE)
  • Centre for Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences (CAOS)
  • Centre for Earth Sciences (CEaS)
  • Centre of Excellence in Advanced Mechanics of Materials (CoE)
  • Centre for Product Design and Manufacturing (CPDM)
  • Centre for Sustainable Technologies (formerly known as ASTRA) (CST)
  • Chemical Engineering (CE)
  • Civil Engineering (CiE)
  • Divecha Centre for Climate Change (DCCC)
  • Materials Engineering (Mat. Eng.)
  • Mechanical Engineering (ME)
Division of Physical and Mathematical Sciences
  • Astronomy and Astrophysics Programme (AAP)
  • Centre for Cryogenic Technology (CCT)
  • Centre for High Energy Physics (CHEP)
  • Instrumentation and Applied Physics  (IAP)
  • Mathematics  (MA)
  • Physics (PHY)
Centres under the Director
  • JRD Tata Memorial Library (LIB)
  • Office of Communications
  • Office of International Relations (OIR)
  • Centre for Continuing Education (CCE)
  • Centre for Sponsored Schemes & Projects (CSSP)
  • Office of Development and Alumni Affairs (ODAA)
  • Office of Intellectual Property and Technology Licensing (IPTeL)
  • Challakere Campus (CC)
  • Centre for Scientific and Industrial Consultancy (CSIC)
  • Digital Campus and IT Services Office (DIGITS)
  • Talent Development Centre (TDC)
  • Skill Development Centre(SDC)

Bachelor of Science (Research) Programme 

Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore offers admission to its four-year Bachelor of Science (Research) Programme. Students who will appear for the 12th standard board examination (or equivalent) and those who have passed this examination in the previous year are eligible to apply for admission to this Programme. 

Based on the merit list of one of the following national examinations:
  • KVPY
  • (IIT) JEE-Main
  • (IIT)JEE-Advanced

M Tech Programmes 

Aerospace Engineering, Civil Engineering, Computer Science and Engineering, Instrumentation & Applied Physics, Materials Engineering, Transportation & Infrastructure Engineering 

Selection is mainly based only on the GATE score 

Eligibility: Applicants possessing a minimum of Second Class or equivalent in a Bachelor's degree in an appropriate field of Engineering / Technology or Master’s degree in Physical Sciences, Mathematics, Statistics, Geology, Instrumentation, Electronics, Computer Applications as applicable to individual departments / programmes with a valid GATE  score are eligible to apply.

Research Programs in IISc Bangalore

Astronomy & Astrophysics, Biochemistry, Ecological Sciences, High Energy Physics, Inorganic & Physical Chemistry, Materials Research, Mathematics, Microbiology & Cell Biology, Molecular Biophysics, Molecular Reproduction, Development & Genetics, Neurosciences, Organic Chemistry, Physics, and Solid State & Structural Chemistry. M Tech (Research) and Ph D in Engineering Faculty: 

Aerospace Engineering, Atmospheric & Oceanic Sciences, Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Computer Science & Automation, Earth Sciences, Electrical Communication Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Electronic Systems Engineering, Instrumentation, Management Studies (Ph D only), Materials Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Nano Science and Engineering (Ph D only), Design & Manufacturing, Sustainable Technologies, and Computational & Data Sciences. 

Ph D in Interdisciplinary areas: BioSystems Science and Engineering (offered by Centre for Biosystems Science and Engineering), Energy (offered by Interdisciplinary Centre for Energy Research), Mathematical Sciences (offered by National Mathematics Initiative), Nanoscience and Engineering (offered by the Centre for Nano Science and Engineering), Water Research (offered by Interdisciplinary Centre for Water Research), Cyber Physical Systems (offered by Robert Bosch Centre for Physical Systems), Climate Change (offered by Divecha Centre for Climate Change).

Selection Process

Candidates are shortlisted for an interview based on their performance in the National Entrance Test or the qualifying degree as detailed in the above table. The selection is based on the performance in the interview (in some of the departments, a written test will precede the interview).

Central Research Facilities in IISc 

  • Advanced Facility for Microscopy and Microanalysis
  • Bioimaging Facility
  • Biosafety Level-3 containment facility 
  • Computational Facilities
  • COSMOS: Cosmic-ray soil water content monitoring 
  • Cryogenic Facility
  • Flow Cytometry Facility
  • IoT Laboratory, ICWAR
  • LCMS facility in Division of Biological Sciences
  • Macromolecular Affinity Characterization Facility
  • Micro and Nano Characterization Facility (MNCF)
  • National Nanofabrication Centre (NNfC)
  • Nuclear Magnetic Research
  • Spectroscopy and Analytical Test Facility

Contact Details

Indian Institute of Science 
Bangalore - 560 012 

Connect me with the Top Colleges